rwbrown3
Egg
Egg
Name: randall brown
Vessel Name: Penny Pauline
Vessel: 2007 OP 220

Gasoline hose changeout OP220

Unread post by rwbrown3 »

I bought my OP220 a few weeks back and since ownership I noticed the gasoline smell, especially after refueling and in choppy water, it's a 24 mile boat ride home from the spit in Homer. After reading posts on this website concerning the same thing, I emailed Hewescraft to find out what size hoses the boat came with. Cari quickly responded with my hose specs and fuel tank specs, next I called Kachemak Gear shed ordered 1 1/2 inch fuel filler hose, 3/8 fuel hose, and 5/8 hose and new clamps. I was intimidated by the job initially as I have never done work like this before, however it wasn't hard at all. Two screwdrivers a hacksaw and Kabar knife was all I needed to do the job. I only had to pull the middle aft deck out, initially I thought I'd have to remove the entire decking inside the cabin but the hose at the front of the fuel tank could be reached without removing the decking so all in all it was an easy fix.
20200515_193749.jpg
First thing I had to do was take off the back panels that cover the batteries, fuel/water separator and washdown pump. Next remove the phillips screws holding the floor down.
20200515_191332.jpg
Removing the floor panel reveals the fuel tank and three hose connections. I believe all the hoses should have two clamps on each end. I have one clamp on the fuel sender hose and plan on adding a second clamp. I couldn't slide the hose on any farther as there seems to be a little build up on the barbs that I have to clean off first..
20200515_172516.jpg
Lots of zip ties need to be replaced. I have thin ones here but want to replace them with zip ties at least as wide was what was used so that'll have to wait until I get back to Homer also. Village life.
20200515_172514.jpg